Posted in The Unbelievable

Dive Bar

As I swung open a rather loose door the thickness in the air hit first. The smell of alcohol was so strong I gulped back bile as I attempted to approach the bar. What didn’t enter patrons stomachs wound up on decades worth of an unmopped floor causing my shoes to stick.

One of these lost souls tried to order a beer from the bartender but the music was too loud and his speech was slurred. There were just two empty stools available. One looked like it had been used the most. The leather was worn almost completely away, replaced by pieces of clear tape to keep the stuffing inside. The other was less worn, but wedged between two rather large and burly gentlemen, with army tattoos and voices that could make anyone who got too close go deaf. There was only one good option to take.

The worn away stool wobbled slightly, but it was the best option. As the bartender came near, it was the missing teeth as he grinned at me I noticed first. What made me stand awkwardly, and leave immediately, was his missing eye as he lifted his eye patch at me.

Author:

Queen of 💯 Word Stories.

Leave a comment